New MFSA board of governors appointed

The Prime Minister has appointed a new board of governors at the Malta Financial Services Authority, with Prof John Mamo reconfirmed chairman and former finance minister Edward Scicluna joining the board ex-official  


The new Board of Governors of the Malta Financial Services Authority (MFSA) has been appointed with Prof. John Mamo being reconfirmed chairman.

Former finance minister Edward Scicluna, now governor of the Central Bank of Malta, has been appointed as member ex officio.

The other five members on the board are Philip von Brockdorff, head of the University of Malta’s Faculty of Economics, Management and Accountancy, Mark Galea, head of the public finance unit at the National Statistics Office, Charles Zammit, formerly a member of the MFSA’s Board of Management and Resources, Economist Stephanie Vella, and Carmel Cascun, a lawyer.

These appointments are valid for a period of one year with effect from 4 February 2021.

The Board of Governors is responsible for establishing the policies and risk parameters to be pursued by the MFSA.

It is also responsible for advising Government on matters relating to the development and regulation of the financial services sector.

More in Banking & Finance